ord sunshine pumpers

life in rural nebraska

Selling the Good Life

with 2 comments

The conversation between the Atlantic Monthly and myself continues here.  You can read up on the previous post here to get up to speed.  Conor and I will have a fun back and forth on whether opportunity lies in rural Nebraska or not.  Obviously you all know where I’m coming from, and you can read below a few of my comments for our community.  Enjoy!

Our commute times are measured in minutes to the mile – traveling 15 miles takes fifteen minutes. My commute in Ord is 6 minutes round trip if I drive or ride my bike; 20 if I walk. Not only is this an economic boon for us, but it opens all sorts of options we have with the extra time. My wife and I enjoy *mornings* with our two boys. Until moving to Ord, this never, ever happened…

For us in Nebraska, these attributes have immediate and powerful positive effects. Nebraska is the happiest and most contended state in the nation measured by both economic well-being and emotional well-being. I bristle a bit when I hear the Great Plains labeled as fly-over country, but eventually I smile because I know numerous of individuals in urban communities pay a lot of money to have what I and my neighbors pay nothing for – quiet piece of mind.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Caleb: You have such a way with the written word! Your words make me feel proud to live in rural Nebraska. Thank you for your all your efforts.

    Jennifer

    June 25, 2009 at 9:09 pm

  2. Thank you much! Its not hard to write the things that are true about our area.

    Caleb

    June 26, 2009 at 2:44 pm


Leave a Reply

