ord sunshine pumpers

life in rural nebraska

The Power of Community

leave a comment »

A recent article on the Farm Bureau blog had me thinking back to my days growing up on our family farm in Nehawka, Nebraska.  The article muses on the national media’s amazement over a farming community’s effort to help a stricken farmer harvest his crops.  What is evident to me is that the national media is shocked (shocked I say!) to find evidence of community in places they often ignore.  In fact, I’d wager to bet that when the said media outlet’s entire journalistic focus trends toward “If it bleeds, it leads“, your slant might affect your ability to comprehend the positive power of community good.

Regardless, the article is worth a read and an affirmation of the many great things about rural communities.  I can share this sentiment as well.  When I was 1 year old, my father (a farmer at the time) was diagnosed with a rare form of bone cancer.  The result?  An above-the-knee amputation at age 24 during the harvest.  My family’s experience was just the same as the one listed in the article – Nehawka farmers came together and helped my mom and dad put food on the table.

And people wonder why we live out here?  I don’t. I’ll leave you with this inspiration for the week:

“That’s why I thank God every day that we are who we are…farmers, ranchers. We live in a place and work in a profession where neighbors take care of neighbors, knowing that the same will be done for them if ever needed. Hardships are felt not by families alone, but by the communities as a whole.”

Written by Caleb

September 22, 2009 at 4:47 am

Leave a Reply

