ord sunshine pumpers

life in rural nebraska

WOM

leave a comment »

Word of Mouth marketing that is.  While I am in Lincoln this week, working on a variety of policy and legislative objectives for our communities, being in Lincoln also reminds me to visit a few of my favorite local businesses and also to catch-up with the people behind them.  One place you’ve heard me mention a few times is bread & cup, a fantastic little spot in the Haymarket.  If you haven’t been there, please check them out and tell Kevin I sent you.

OK, back to my point about Word of Mouth marketing.  While WOM is simple, its many times hard to figure out.  In an era of information overload and multifaceted communication channels, many business have a hard time figuring out what mechanism is best at telling their story and selling their idea (or product or whatever).  The point is, it’s harder than ever to communicate to the masses…or at least it seems to be.  Kevin and his crew at bread & cup can be a model of how a successful business with a unique approach to marketing is getting ahead.  It has helped them grow and establish the business as both high quality and decidedly unique.  How?  Give it a look here.  I’ll leave you with one juicy quote:

In our technologically fueled Information Age, we suffer from a glut of data that is absolutely useless. As a business man, I want my marketing to be concise, useful and to the point. I don’t want to waste your time, because I don’t want to waste mine, either.

Amen brother!  We’ll have more to come soon.  Thanks for your patience while I’m out of the office this week.

Written by Caleb

February 3, 2010 at 7:31 pm

Leave a Reply

